My Reduction of Stress and Frustration through Moving to a Simplistic/Minimalist Space/Schedule

Just wanted to share my story in case it would be an encouragement to someone who reads it. I’m just sharing what works for us — I fully realize that it is not for everyone. I used to be a seriously stressed out and frustrated person. 

2 things have helped me immensely. First, my unreasonable obsession with exploring and enjoying God’s love for me through Christ (the fruit of this obsession has been nothing short of miraculous – peace, joy, etc.). 

Second, radically simplifying my life through “minimalism” (which has quite a large spectrum and looks different in each minimalist’s life). For us, it means several things. 

1. We have vastly decluttered our home of things that ended up not be very important to us (still have more to let go of but we have made big strides) which means that it is ridiculously easy to clean up the house which means that we don’t need to spend much time cleaning. YAY!

2. I have vastly decluttered our schedule. We are very intentional about the things that we commit our time to which leaves lots of room for spontaneous living, serving, loving others, etc. 

3. Our homeschool is simple. We unschool which means that the children (for the vast majority of the learning) choose what they want to learn about and I am right there with them either as their guide or just enjoying the sight of delightful learning taking place. For us, unschooling is the right choice and it melds seamlessly into our belief that God has given each person gifts to develop and use for loving Him and loving/serving others. (I have a decidedly un-American mind when it comes to education, meaning that I am not a fan at all of the prevalent American educational theories and practices.) I definitely am in the minority of Americans with my beliefs (even across the board) and I’m okay with that. I want my mind to be an eternal mind — concerned more about the eternal things than getting stressed/frustrated with Earthly things. 

I am living the life that I never even knew was possible and choosing those aforementioned things has helped to bring me here. I give all glory to God for leading me to those things.

PS And it’s not like I don’t have challenges, problems, etc. because I really do but I practice the not worrying that Jesus and Peter taught about casting our cares to the Father.

If you are interested in exploring the amazing depths of our Heavenly Father’s love for us (all people) and how it relates to gentle Christian parenting, please subscribe either via email, your favorite reader or Twitter.

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in parenting, spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Reduction of Stress and Frustration through Moving to a Simplistic/Minimalist Space/Schedule

  1. Hardik Nagar says:

    Certain things hit me in the article.

    One was how simplifying has helped you so much and amplified your overall feeling of peace and joy.

    Two is how you follow the idea of unschooling. For one, I believe that unschooling might be the future as more and more people see through the lies of it each day.

    Also your love for The One comes out quite strongly!

    Glad to have stumbled upon your blog!

    Would love a feedback from you about my blog about Minimalism and Simplicity!

    Cheers.

    Best,

    Hardik
    http://thatindianminimalist.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

