Growing in the Knowledge and in the Experience of His Love

Before I get into what I want to post today, I’d just like to say humbly that I hope that my posts never come off as “this is what you need to do” or something to that effect. My suggestions or writing what has worked for me or in our family very well might not be the right fit for your family. Regarding advice: I take what resonates with me and respectfully leave the rest. Feel free to do that with any advice that I give.

So, today I just wanted to share some thoughts and Scriptures on love. God’s love. It’s my favorite thing to meditate on. One of these days I am going to look up and type up all of the Scriptures that speak of God’s love for each one of us so that my mind and my spirit are just so saturated with it. I believe that coming into a greater understanding of His love for us each day is what can radically change our relationship with Him and thus be able to live out the 2nd greatest commandment (to love others as we love ourselves). This has been my experience. I used to think that loving other people (aside from my own family and friends) was almost impossible (because all I saw were their flaws). Ah but growing in the knowledge and in the experience of His love, I am able (not perfectly) to look at people and say “God LOVES that person SO MUCH”. He has given me eyes of His mercy and love, filling me with His love and His joy to serve others (beginning with my family — husband and children). As Philippians 2:13 says “[Not in your own strength] for it is God Who is all the while effectually at work in you [energizing and creating in you the power and desire], both to will and to work for His good pleasure and satisfaction and [b]delight.” (Amplified Bible). I believe that one of the ways that we can experience His life-changing and radical love for us is by meditating on His love for us as revealed by the words and actions of Jesus; so, I encourage you to meditate on His lavish, everlasting and amazing love for YOU. I’ll leave you with this (since my post is already so long): “And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.” Ephesians 3:18-19 (New Living Translation)

Okay, one more thought. In Phil 2:13, there is that phrase “His good pleasure and satisfaction and delight”. What do you suppose is His good pleasure and satisfaction and delight? I believe that it is to love and to be loved by you!

If you are interested in exploring the amazing depths of our Heavenly Father’s love for us (all people) and how it relates to gentle Christian parenting, please subscribe either via email, your favorite reader or Twitter.

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in parenting, spiritual and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

