My story of healing. His love is central! He delights in me! He rejoices over me!

One of the wounds that received in my youth that I only recently recognized is that I never felt that I was delighted in by my father.  I didn’t feel special and I didn’t feel delighted in.  Sure, he provided for our physical needs and I am grateful for that but my soul longed to be delighted in.

Until about 18 months ago, I didn’t quite grasp the depth of God’s love for me — that I am His beloved — that He soooooooooooooooooo loved me that He suffered and died for ME.  Before then, I definitely felt like I needed to do more to earn God’s love and approval.  My lack of joy and my judgmental attitude toward myself and others was stifling.

I am so thankful to my mother-in-law who sent me a book that I would NEVER have given a glance toward.  I read it because I love her and I was “stuck” nursing my toddler for much of my days so I figured that I might as well read it.  I was set free from so much spiritual bondage by the Truth of God’s love explained to me in that book.

My spirit is strengthened daily by the intimate time that I spend with God, my Beloved, every morning and every chance I get throughout the day to give praise to Him.

For me, my foundation is that I meditate on how much God loves me which melts my heart and makes me fall in love with Him so much so that I WANT to submit to Him in obedience because I trust Him with all of my heart based on what Jesus did for me on the Cross 2000 years ago and what He does in me today.  Otherwise, I will view Him as a far-away and frightening God like I did before.

Today I wrote down on a index card Zephaniah 3:17 which has just become a most favorite verse for me.  When Zephaniah wrote these words, it was before the Cross.  I am on the other side of the Cross, firmly planted in the New Covenant, and so I can change the words from future tense to present tense.  And, of course, I can change the first verse from the word “among” to “in.”

“For the Lord your God is living [in] you.
He is a mighty savior.
He [takes] delight in you with gladness.
With his love, he [calms] all your fears.
He [rejoices] over you with joyful songs.”

He DELIGHTS in ME!!!!!  He REJOICES over ME!!!!!!

I pray, as Paul prayed for the Ephesian church: “may you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand full.  Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God” (Eph. 3:19)

God’s grace and peace to you this day and every day to come!

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in spiritual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

