Sometimes parenting is tough…but what if?

I know, I know.  The word “sometimes” should actually be replaced with “most times.”Dealing with the trials that our children present to us is very tough. I wonder if perhaps parenting is more about God producing character in us than “getting our children under control.”

James 1:2-4:Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

Romans 5:3-5
More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

When you are tempted to react poorly with your children, I pray that you will view it as an opportunity for both you and your children to build your character.  Personally, God has helped me to come to the place that I am — where I hold up my actions, my attitudes and my words to the following: do my actions, attitudes and words reflect the 2nd greatest commandment and do they reflect the fruit of the Spirit?  Am I loving my neighbor as myself?  In other words: am I treating the other person in a manner that  I would prefer to be treated or corrected when I am wrong?  Do my actions reflect the following fruit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control?  If not, then I need to stop whatever it is that I am doing and go to the Lord for the strength to react as a representative of Christ to others.

May the Lord bless you and keep you!

Thanks for stopping by! If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing via email, Facebook TwitterPinterest or your favorite reader. Don’t forget to share on Facebook or Twitter so that others can be encouraged!  Be blessed!

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in parenting, spiritual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes parenting is tough…but what if?

  1. Amen. What beautiful sentiment. When we care more about what we give, rather than what we receive, there is unity and real love. Treating everyone like they matter in any given situation… feels good. * smiles*

  2. Megan Spires says:

    What a breath of fresh air your post is. I love that you hold your actions, attitudes and words up to the Word of God. Thanks so much for linking up with Living in the Word over at Managing Your Blessings. We hope you’ll continue to join us there each Saturday.

    Sweet Blessings to you,

    Megan Spires
    http://www.ManagingYourBlessings.com

Leave a Reply

