Once Bitten Twice Shy: Taking the Sting Out of Yellow Jackets

Good stuff from my friend, The Survival Sherpa. It inspired me to go through old medicines and put together a better first aid kit for the vehicle!

Survival Sherpa

by Todd Walker

I’m typing this post with a very swollen left hand.

Once Bitten Twice Shy: Taking the Sting Out of Yellow Jackets - TheSurvivalSherpa.com

I’ve always reacted badly to insect bites. While putting up a wooden fence for a friend yesterday, I disturbed a yellow jacket nest in a bed of ivy. One power-packing bugger hit my in the knee. I killed it and ran about 10 feet away. Then one hit my left hand. I hightailed it away from the area. Fortunately, I only ended up with two stings.

wasp sting kneeKnowing my reaction to wasp stings, I started walking the yard to find my favorite remedy, plantain leaves. I quickly chewed a few to activate the goodness and applied the greenery on my bites. The plantain immediately worked to relieve the stinging. The painful sting was not my biggest concern. The swelling and reaction worried me.

The Band Aid I used to hold the plantain on my knee lasted all of…

View original post 824 more words

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

