My wild [food] adventures — ostrich fern shoots

Crunchy Mama's Urban Homestead

My journey with wild foods began when I first became aware of the problems that plague our food supply including depleted soils on farmland, the crazy dependence on fossil-fuel-based fertilizers, Monsanto’s diabolical acts with pesticides, herbicides, and genetically changing seeds, and more.  I bought several wild edible field guides and began to look for the plants.  For the past few years, I have added a few wild edibles to my knowledge base and diet.  Last fall, I found a revoluntionary set of books on wild food that my set of wild food adventures on fire!  Those books are John Kallas’ (KAY-less) Edible Wild Plants and Samuel Thayer’s The Forager’s Harvest and Nature’s Garden.  I’ll be talking about the books in coming posts but I want to dive into some great and ready-right-now wild foods that are easy to find and identify.  In the meantime, you should check out their reviews…

View original post 666 more words

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

