Do your children complain?

Silly question, I know! Of course, they do!  It’s human nature. 99% of all humans do it!

But we can overcome our tendencies to complain and we can teach our children even as we learn to complain less (or even not at all!).

The following is a Facebook post of mine from October when this post How to Complain Less from Becoming Minimalist hit my inbox.  I shared the link on Facebook with the following commentary:

One of the things that I love about my husband is that he very rarely complains. I make it a high priority to not complain and to try to see the bright side of things, even though they didn’t go MY way.

Hearing my children complain can wear down my patience quickly — and, thankfully, the Lord showed me on a particularly “whiny” day a few months ago how to teach them to not complain — I said to them, “you can voice your displeasure about something once but you are not allowed to voice your displeasure over and over and over. I will acknowledge your displeasure although I will likely not change my mind about a decision. Please try to focus on all of the great things that you can be thankful and happy about instead of focusing on the one tiny thing that I said no to.”

I pray this for you and for me today! Philippians 2:13-15 (NLT) “13 For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. 14 Do everything without complaining and arguing, 15 so that no one can criticize you. Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people.” and Philippians 4:8 (NLT)”And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

Thanks for stopping by! If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing via email, Facebook TwitterPinterest or your favorite reader. Don’t forget to share on Facebook or Twitter so that others can be encouraged!  Be blessed!

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in parenting, spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

